You Make the Call!
Here’s the Scenario:
The ball is in the air. Your partner yells “out.” The ball lands in. However, your opponents stop playing because of the “out” call. What’s the call?
This scenario plays out seemingly all the time on the pickleball courts. Luckily it is explicitly addressed in the pickleball rulebook where it states that calling the ball out before it bounces is considered partner communication. Therefore, the ball can still be played if it lands in.
Yelling “out” after the ball bounces, on the other hand, is considered a line call that ends the rally. In this case, the “out” call was made before it bounced. Therefore, the rally continues. If your opponents claim “hindrance” and a replay of the point, direct them to Rule #6.D.11 in the 2019 International Federation of Pickleball Official Tournament Rulebook.
2019 International Federation of Pickleball — Official Tournament Rulebook
While the ball is in the air, if a player yells “out,” “no,” “bounce it,” or any other words to communicate to his or her partner that the ball may be out, it shall be considered player communication only and not considered a line call.
Need More Pickleball Rules Clarifications & Interpretations?
Please reference our pickleball rules page and make sure to subscribe to our newsletter so that you receive additional pickleball rules clarifications and interpretations for many of the common — and not-so-common — scenarios that happen on the pickleball courts. By subscribing to the newsletter you will also receive pickleball tips, strategies, tournament recaps, and more.