You Make the Call!
Here’s the Scenario:
You hit a groundstroke and the ball ricochets off the net post and goes in and is not returned. What’s the call?
It doesn’t happen frequently on the pickleball courts — but when it does, it usually sparks confusion. You attempt an around-the-post shot — or perhaps it’s just an errant shot — and the ball ricochets off the net post and goes in! You celebrate. Your opponents, on the other hand, shake their heads in total disbelief at your apparent “good fortune.” Before conceding the rally, however, they ask to see the applicable rule in the Pickleball Official Tournament Rulebook.
Luckily for your opponents — but unfortunately for you — you have the rulebook handy, and as you peruse through the pages, you come to Rule # 12.I.
International Federation of Pickleball — Official Tournament Rulebook
The Net Posts. The net posts are positioned out of bounds. If a ball strikes the net post or anything attached to the net post, it is a fault and a dead ball is declared. This rule does not include the net, the net cable, or rope between the net posts.
Need More Pickleball Rules Clarifications & Interpretations?
Please reference our pickleball rules page and make sure to subscribe to our newsletter so that you receive additional pickleball rules clarifications and interpretations for many of the common — and not-so-common — scenarios that happen on the pickleball courts. By subscribing to the newsletter you will also receive pickleball tips, strategies, tournament recaps and more.