You Make the Call! Here's the Scenario: You attempt the serve, but swing and miss. Try again? What's the call? In both tennis and ping-pong if you swing at the serve and completely miss the ball, it's a point for the receiving player or team. … [Read more...]
Pickleball Rules & Rule Clarifications
First introduced in 2010, the USAPA/IFP 2020 Official Pickleball Rulebook is a document consisting of 76 pages — covering everything from pickleball court & equipment specifications, to the serve, scoring, faults, the non-volley zone and much more.
Pickleball Rules Clarifications
Perusing the official rulebook may seem like a daunting task, particularly for the pickleball newbie. That's precisely why we have created this resource. The following blog posts are a compilation of pickleball rules clarifications and interpretations for many of the common — and not-so-common — scenarios that happen on the pickleball courts. Do I have a legal pickleball serve? What if my shot hits the net post and goes in? Can I hit a shot "around" the post? These pickleball scenarios and more will be addressed as we clarify and interpret the pickleball rules.
Unwritten Rules of Pickleball
Similar to countless other sports, there are also "unwritten" rules of pickleball of which you should be aware. We'll call them pickleball "etiquette best practices" — at least, according to me. Be sure to click here and check out these "rules" as well.
You Make the Call! Here's the Scenario: You hit a groundstroke but hit the ball twice (a double hit) during the shot. What's the call? This "double-hit" scenario rears its ugly head every-so-often on the pickleball courts. Intuitively, it … [Read more...]
Note: The blog post with the 2019 Updated Rules and Major Rule Revisions that are effective on February 15, 2019 can be found here: 2019 Updated Pickleball Rules. Shown below is the blog post about the 2018 pickleball rules and revisions that … [Read more...]
You Make the Call! Here's the Scenario: You're wearing a hat to play pickleball. The hat falls into your own Non-Volley Zone while you execute a groundstroke from behind the Non-Volley Line. What's the call? To keep the sun out of my eyes, I … [Read more...]
You Make the Call! Here's the Scenario: During the serve, the server's feet are positioned outside of the imaginary extension of the sideline. The opponents miss the return. What's the call? I see pickleball service foot faults seemingly all … [Read more...]