You Make the Call! Here's the Scenario: You hit a groundstroke and the ball ricochets off the net post and goes in and is not returned. What's the call? It doesn't happen frequently on the pickleball courts -- but when it does, it usually … [Read more...]
Pickleball Rules & Rule Clarifications
First introduced in 2010, the USAPA/IFP 2020 Official Pickleball Rulebook is a document consisting of 76 pages — covering everything from pickleball court & equipment specifications, to the serve, scoring, faults, the non-volley zone and much more.
Pickleball Rules Clarifications
Perusing the official rulebook may seem like a daunting task, particularly for the pickleball newbie. That's precisely why we have created this resource. The following blog posts are a compilation of pickleball rules clarifications and interpretations for many of the common — and not-so-common — scenarios that happen on the pickleball courts. Do I have a legal pickleball serve? What if my shot hits the net post and goes in? Can I hit a shot "around" the post? These pickleball scenarios and more will be addressed as we clarify and interpret the pickleball rules.
Unwritten Rules of Pickleball
Similar to countless other sports, there are also "unwritten" rules of pickleball of which you should be aware. We'll call them pickleball "etiquette best practices" — at least, according to me. Be sure to click here and check out these "rules" as well.
You Make the Call! Here's the Scenario: The ball is in the air. Your partner yells "out." The ball lands in. However, your opponents stop playing because of the "out" call. What's the call? This scenario plays out seemingly all the time on … [Read more...]
There are several situations that could arise on portable pickleball net systems that simply do not occur when playing on permanent nets. Without proper knowledge of these rules, you risk needlessly acquiescing points to your opponents for scenarios … [Read more...]
You Make the Call! Here's the Scenario: You're dinking with your opponents and they swing you out wide. You hit a shot that goes around the post (not over the net) and is just 2 inches above the ground. The ball lands in and you opponents cannot … [Read more...]
You Make the Call! Here's the Scenario: A player jumps over the net and into the opponent's NVZ without touching the net. Fault? Or continue playing? In September, in Ashland, Kentucky, this exact scenario played out in a hotly contested … [Read more...]