• Work with Us
  • Blog
  • Pickleball Clinics
  • Private & Group Lessons
  • Shop
    • Cart
    • Checkout
  • User Reviews

PickleballMAX

Maximize your Pickleball Potential

  • Home
  • Pickleball 101
    • Pickleball Rules
  • Strategy
  • Shots
  • Tournaments
  • Wellness
  • Gear
    • Pickleball Accessories
    • Pickleball Bags
    • Pickleball Clothing
    • Pickleball Glasses
    • Pickleball Machines
    • Portable Nets
    • Pickleball Paddles
    • Pickleball Sets
    • Pickleball Shoes
  • Shop
    • Cart
    • Checkout
You are here: Home / Rules / Portable Pickleball Net Systems — Rules to Know!

This post may contain affiliate links. See my disclosure policy here.

Portable Pickleball Net Systems — Rules to Know!

There are several situations that could arise on portable pickleball net systems that simply do not occur when playing on permanent nets. Without proper knowledge of these rules, you risk needlessly acquiescing points to your opponents for scenarios in which you’re uncertain about the official rules.

Pickleball Portable Net System Rules - 2019

Here are some of the scenarios that could happen on portable net systems.  The pickleball portable net system rules cited have an effective date beginning February 15, 2019.

1. You Make the Call!

Here’s the Scenario:

A game is being played on a portable net. The ball hits the horizontal bar, goes over the net and then bounces in the opponents court. The team hitting this shot wins the rally. What’s the call?

The correct call is…

FAULT!  “If the ball hits the horizontal bar or the center base before going over the net, it is a fault.”  (Rule #11.L.5.a.)

2. You Make the Call!

Here’s the Scenario:

A game is being played on a portable net. The ball goes over the net, hits the horizontal bar and bounces onto the court. What’s the call?

The correct call is…

REPLAY THE POINT!  “If the ball goes over the net and hits the center base or any part of the horizontal bar or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before touching the court, it is a let and will be replayed.” (Rule #11.L.5.b.)

3. You Make the Call!

Here’s the Scenario:

A game is being played on a portable net. The ball dribbles over the net and hits the center base making the next shot unreturnable. What’s the call?

The correct call is…

REPLAY THE POINT!  “If the ball goes over the net and hits the center base or any part of the horizontal bar or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before touching the court, it is a let and will be replayed.” (Rule #11.L.5.b.)

4. You Make the Call!

Here’s the Scenario:

A game is being played on a portable net. The ball dribbles over the net and gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar. What’s the call?

The correct call is…

REPLAY THE POINT!  “If the ball goes over the net and hits the center base or any part of the horizontal bar or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before touching the court, it is a let and will be replayed.” (Rule #11.L.5.b.)

Shown below is Rule #11.L.5 that addresses these unique situations that may occur — albeit infrequently — on portable net systems. Be sure you know these rules so that you don’t needlessly give away a point — or replay a point — that should be yours!

International Federation of Pickleball — Official Tournament Rulebook

Rule #11.L.5:

When net systems have a horizontal bar that includes a center base:

Rule #11.L.5.a:

If the ball hits the horizontal bar or the center base before going over the net, it is a fault.

Rule #11.L.5.b:

If the ball goes over the net and hits the center base or any part of the horizontal bar or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before touching the court, it is a let and will be replayed. See 11.L.5.c for an exception.

Rule #11.L.5.c:

If the ball goes over the net and hits the center base or any part of the horizontal bar or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before touching the court, it is a let and will be replayed. See 11.L.5.c for an exception.

Need More Pickleball Rules Clarifications & Interpretations?

Please reference our pickleball rules page and make sure to subscribe to our newsletter so that you receive additional pickleball rules clarifications and interpretations for many of the common — and not-so-common — scenarios that happen on the pickleball courts. By subscribing to the newsletter you will also receive pickleball tips, strategies, tournament recaps, and more.

>>READ NEXT: Pickleball Court Size – What are the Dimensions of a Pickleball Court?<<

Article by PickleballMAX / Filed Under: Rules 18 Comments

Doubles Strategy Blueprint

Paddles, Shoes, Bags & More!

Fromuth Pickleball – Use Code “10MAX” for 10% Off!
  • Hundreds of pickleball paddles, court shoes, and bags in stock now and ready to be shipped.
  • Free Shipping on orders of $75+
  • Use Discount Code 10MAX for 10% off your purchase. (some exclusions apply)

Fromuth Pickleball
Order your favorite pickleball gear today!

Performance Eyewear (Sunglasses & Eye Protection)

RIA Eyewear
  • 100% UVA/UVB protection
  • Impact-resistant & shatterproof lenses
  • Lightweight, anti-fogging, and vision-enhancing (contrast of the ball to the court)

pickleball glasses
Order your RIA Performance Eyewear Today!

It’s Fun to Feel Good!

Jigsaw Health – Discount Code!
Use Code “PickleballMAX10” at Checkout for $10 off your Jigsaw Order.

Jigsaw Health

  • Relax your legs, muscles, and brain for better sleep with Jigsaw MagSoothe™.
  • Stay hydrated and energized with Jigsaw Electrolyte Supreme™.
  • Prevent muscle cramping with Pickleball Cocktail®.

Order Jigsaw Health Today!

About PickleballMAX

Tennis player turned pickleball player. I blog about how one maximizes their picklebility. Picklebility is simply defined as an embodiment of one's passion, ability and addiction to #pickleball. See you on the courts!

Comments

  1. Mike says

    September 5, 2020 at 11:40 pm

    Can the serving team call a let if receiving team doesn’t hear it?

    Reply
    • PickleballMAX says

      October 26, 2020 at 2:43 pm

      Hi Mike, According to Rule # 4.O.3 from the 2020 Official Rulebook, any player may call a service let.

      Reply
  2. Paul Amnott says

    October 22, 2019 at 3:23 pm

    When using a portable net with a center post, if the ball hits the top of the post and ricochets into the opponents play area what is the call?

    Reply
    • PickleballMAX says

      November 18, 2019 at 1:29 pm

      Hi Paul, It’s simply a “live” ball. This assumes you’re talking about the center “stick” and not the net post that is positioned out-of-bounds. Hope that helps. (If it was the serve, it would be a “let” if it landed in the correct service box.)

      Reply
  3. Mike Roth says

    October 7, 2019 at 12:13 pm

    Uprights on a portable net, if a pickleball hits the upright and goes in the court of play is it in or out?

    Reply
    • PickleballMAX says

      October 21, 2019 at 5:14 pm

      Hi Mike, I believe you’re referring to the net posts. As such, Rule #11.K applies:

      11. K. The Net Posts. The net posts (including connected wheels, arms, or other support construction) are positioned out of bounds. If a ball or player contacts the net post, it is a fault and a dead ball is declared.

      Reply
  4. Serena Dunkman says

    October 31, 2018 at 2:56 pm

    How is it determined which team serves first in the second game?

    Reply
    • PickleballMAX says

      November 26, 2018 at 8:16 am

      Hi Serena, The team that did not serve first in the first game will serve first in the second game. Hope that helps!

      Reply
  5. Tami says

    April 10, 2018 at 2:06 pm

    I had a play where the ball hit the portable net “center vertical support” roll across the top of the net and landed in the opponents court. The opponent called it their point, because she said it was part of the portable net frame?? What I’ve been able to find on portable net rules is talking about the actual metal center “stand” or “ horizontal bar”. I guess the question is is the center stick that runs through the net “vertically” supporting the net center qualify as the “ net frame”? What’s the call? Fault or replay?

    Reply
    • PickleballMAX says

      April 25, 2018 at 11:15 am

      Hi Tami, The very small rod that, on portable net systems, goes from the center base to the top of the net is considered part of the net. Therefore, your shot is actually considered “good.” Play should continue. It would not be a fault, nor would you replay the point. Hope that helps!

      Reply
  6. Rocky says

    December 19, 2017 at 12:16 pm

    Server hits the ball properly but momentum carries his back foot over the service line and he lands in the court. Is this a foot fault and can only his team call it?

    Reply
    • PickleballMAX says

      December 19, 2017 at 9:41 pm

      It’s a legal serve (and no fault called) as long as the server’s feet did not touch the court (including the baseline) at point-of-contact on the serve. In tournament play, the call is made by the on-court referee. In rec play, anybody could theoretically call it — although my guess is, few will. Hope that helps!

      Reply
  7. Peggy says

    November 21, 2017 at 12:29 pm

    Do the same rules apply to end posts as center posts?
    A ball in play hits the end post but still went over the net. Fault or point?

    Reply
    • PickleballMAX says

      November 21, 2017 at 12:58 pm

      Hi Peggy, I cover that exact scenario (ball hits the post and goes in) here: https://www.pickleballmax.com/2017/11/pickleball-hits-net-post/. Hope that helps!

      Reply
  8. Pierre says

    November 20, 2017 at 1:55 am

    Great article once again Pickleballmax! Most of my readers are beginners and they are so eager to learn Pickleball. It’s now rainy season in my country and most of them are now playing indoors. This is a nice write up on the rules.

    Reply
    • PickleballMAX says

      November 21, 2017 at 12:50 pm

      Thanks, Pierre, for your kind words!

      Reply
  9. Srini says

    October 28, 2017 at 11:47 am

    Hi,

    I have a question.

    I step into the kitchen to take a ball on the bounce, then go outside the court (out of bounds) without stepping back inside the court and then play a volley. Will it be a fault?

    Appreciate your response.

    Reply
    • PickleballMAX says

      October 31, 2017 at 9:27 am

      That’s A-OK… as long as both feet were established outside of the kitchen at the time of the volley. Here are additional FAQ’s that you may find helpful: https://www.pickleballmax.com/2015/09/pickleball-faqs-volleys-groundies-and-the-non-volley-zone/.

      Reply

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search this website

Guides

  • Pickleball for Beginners
  • Pickleball Clothing
  • Pickleball Court
  • Pickleball Equipment
  • Pickleball Net
  • Pickleball Paddles
  • Pickleball Ratings
  • Pickleball Rules
  • Pickleball Shoes
  • Pickleballs
  • Tournament Pickleball
  • What is Pickleball

Online Store

  • Bags
  • Ball Accessories
  • Ball Machines
  • Balls
  • Eyewear
  • Gloves
  • Hats and Visors
  • Hydration & Recovery
  • Jewelry
  • Men's Apparel
  • Miscellaneous
  • Nets
  • Online Pickleball Courses
  • Paddle Accessories
  • Paddles
  • Prevention and Recovery
  • Printables
  • Shoes
  • Socks
  • Tournament Products
  • Training Aids
  • Wellness
  • Women's Apparel
  • Home
  • Pickleball 101
  • Strategy
  • Shots
  • Tournaments
  • Wellness
  • Gear
  • Shop

PickleballMAX | PO Box 813| Mason, OH 45040
PickleballMAX participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program
Copyright © 2023 · All Rights Reserved · Privacy Policy · Disclosure