• Save

You Call it “Out,” Your Partner Calls it “In” — Replay the Pickleball Point? What’s the Call?

This post has been updated in 2024 according to the USA Pickleball Official Rulebook (2024).

Here’s the Scenario. you Make the Call.

The ball lands close to the line. You call the ball “out.” Your partner calls the ball “in.” Replay the point? What’s the call?

It happens all the time. Your pickleball nemesis hits a shot that lands really close to the line. You clearly saw the ball “out.” Or maybe — just maybe — you were hoping that the ball would be out. However, your partner calls it “in.” What do you do? Overrule your partner and take the point?  Certainly a tempting option. Replay the point? Seems logical. Give the benefit of the doubt to your opponents? Yikes — after all, it is your nemesis.

  • Save

It has been my experience that many will inappropriately replay the point. In this scenario, however, the point should not be replayed. Rather, the benefit of the doubt should be given to your opponents. So, in this case, grit your teeth and give the benefit of the doubt to your nemesis — and hope and pray they’ll do the same for you!

USA Pickleball Official Rulebook (2024)

Rule #6.C.3:

The opponent gets the benefit of the doubt on line calls made. Any ball that cannot be called “out” will be considered “in.” A player cannot claim a replay because the ball was not seen or there is uncertainty.

Rule #6.C.8:

In doubles play, if one player calls the ball “out” and the partner calls it “in,” then doubt exists and the team’s call will be “in.”

Need More Pickleball Rules Clarifications & Interpretations?

Please reference our pickleball rules page and make sure to subscribe to our newsletter so that you receive additional pickleball rules clarifications and interpretations for many of the common — and not-so-common — scenarios that happen on the pickleball courts. By subscribing to the newsletter you will also receive pickleball tips, strategies, tournament recaps, and more.

Jigsaw Health – Discount Code!
Use Code “PickleballMAX10” at Checkout for $10 off your Jigsaw Order.
Jigsaw Health
  • Save
  • Save
Coach Todd
About Todd

Todd is the talent behind PickleballMAX. He knows pickleball and demonstrates it on the court as a 4.5 – 5.0 player. In addition to creating content and running the PickleballMAX business, Todd is IPTPA Level II certified. As an instructor at the Ohio Pickleball Academy, he instructs students and runs adult and youth clinics. He also manages tournament desks throughout the tri state for tournaments ranging from 100-500 participants.

Pickleball Central
Pickleball Doubles Strategy Blueprint
  • Flowcharts & Decision-trees
  • Technique Checklists
  • Serve, Return, 3rd Shot & 4th Shot Strategies
  • 10-page downloadable PDF that outlines a systematic, practical and easy-to-follow approach that will help any level pickleball player WIN MORE GAMES!
pickleball doubles strategy blueprint
Fromuth Pickleball – Use Code “10MAX” for 10% Off!
Fromuth Pickleball
RIA Performance Eyewear
  • 100% UVA/UVB protection
  • Impact-resistant & shatterproof lenses
  • Lightweight, anti-fogging, and vision-enhancing (contrast of the ball to the court)
pickleball glasses

4 Comments

  1. A related question:

    Your opponent serves ball to you, you return the serve because you think it’s in but your partner calls the serve long. The other team does not return the ball, stopping playing, because they heard your partner’s out call. Who gets the point? Is there a replay?

    1. Hi Jason, According to the rules, there would be no replay in this instance. If your partner called the ball “out,” but you thought the ball was “in,” then the rally would be awarded to your opponents since they stopped playing at your partner’s “out” call. Because you “disagreed” with your partner, doubt exists and the benefit of the doubt goes to the opponent. Hope that helps.

  2. Your opponent serves ball to you, you return the serve but your playing partner calls the serve long or out of bounds. Does play continue ?

    1. Hi Sam,
      The serve would be considered out as long as the call is made “instantly.”

      Rule #6.D.8: All “let” or “out” calls must be made “instantly”; otherwise, the ball is presumed good and still in play. “Instantly” is defined as calling “let” or “out” prior to the ball being hit by the opponent or before a dead ball is declared.

      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *